Quizzically Musing

Watching the madness

Facebook’s downtime

with 2 comments

This is a case of what was not really reported at all.  Although Twitter was afire with the Facebook problems yesterday, the mainstream press in Australia seemed to just ignore it.  A system outage affects 500 million users worldwide and this is not news?  Does that strike anyone other than me as strange?

Interestingly, the downtime was while the USA sleeps.  I have visual images of the guy or gal who was on call just not waking up  when the pager beeped (correction – server sent text message) alerting a server problem.  I know, not an exciting visual – but I’m an IT person, so forgive me!  Actually – it reminds me of a time years ago when I was at a party.  One of our friends was a Channel 7 cinematographer and carried a pager (it was in the days before text messages).  Having a wonderful time, he threw his pager in a glass of beer – to ensure he wouldn’t get called out!

I managed to find one report in the press.  I expected there may have been some coverage today, explaining the cause of the massive outage that lasted some 6 or more hours.  Nothing I could find.  Admittedly I didn’t search to the nth degree – I expected something obvious.  Not a peep.

Very interesting……………..

 

Written by Robyn Dunphy

December 31, 2010 at 7:57 pm

Posted in News

Tagged with , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I thought I was the only one that noticed it because you’re right – there was no coverage of the outage! But then it was very weird that I noticed it at all because I’m not on facebook, but I had watched “the Social Network” that day and decided on a whim to go check it out. I thought I was going mad….because in the movie – facebook is never allowed to “go down”!!!! hmmm….

    Lily Wright

    January 4, 2011 at 7:29 am

    • I haven’t seen the movie yet, but I intend to! There still has not been any media coverage. hmmmmmmmmmm indeed!

      Team Oyeniyi

      January 4, 2011 at 7:48 am


Leave a Reply

