Quizzically Musing

Watching the madness

Clearly I’m not rich!

leave a comment »

Working from home today and waiting on a supplier phone call, so flipped over to The Age to see what the latest headlines bring us.  Something other than St Kilda and the “young girl”, was my hope.

While the “young girl” did still grab the picture spotlight (how many days is it now?), one of the headings took my eye.  A shonky health aid.  Oh, good – something different, I thought to myself.  Well, only partly, for Nick Riewoldt was mentioned as wearing one so it seems we can’t escape his name. 

The bands, worn by footballers Nick Riewoldt and Brendan Fevola as well as jockey Damien Oliver, were said to improve sports performance, but were found to be a scam.

The report quotes the ACCC chairman:

ACCC chairman Graeme Samuel said it was ”fairly obvious” there was no credible evidence to support claims being made by companies selling similar products.

”I’d be very interested to see other people demonstrate how the insertion of a hologram into a bracelet can have the sort of effects that they claim,” he said, adding that some of the things being said by companies ”beggared belief”.

”Distributors of other like products be warned: we’re on to this issue,” Mr Samuel said.

Now, what REALLY got me was – THE PRICE!  Hence my headline!  I’ve not heard of these wonderful Power Bands  and pendants and given they are selling for “up to $1,568”, I’m not surprised I haven’t.  My money is going in more constructive directions.  $1,568?  For a hologram?  The clasp better be diamond studded 18 carat gold for that price.

Source: The Age

Call me skeptical, but it looks like cheap plastic with a McDonald’s logo if you ask me.

Improve performance?  Eat better food, train harder and keep cameras out of your lives might be better advice!  Interesting that Brendan Fevola wears one.  When we consider his well-publicised challenges of late, I’m not sure such a band is the solution.  Good old-fashioned will-power is likely to be more effective.

I can’t help but ponder the never ending stream of things people will try to use to “save” themselves or make themselves “better”, from religion (mainstream or otherwise) to crystals to Power Bands.  Most of us would be better simply looking in the mirror and asking ourselves what do we need to change to achieve our goals.  We, us, inside ourselves and out.  Why do we prefer to look for miracles and magic?  Simply because those are……………. EASIER!  Maybe I’m just getting old and grumpy! 😛

Written by Robyn Dunphy

December 24, 2010 at 9:34 am

Leave a Reply

