Quizzically Musing

Watching the madness

Then there is the stuff kept quiet …

with 6 comments

Modess ad from the '70s

… or as quiet as can be managed.  After all, we wouldn’t want to upset the gentle sensibilities of the masses with such trivialities, now would we?

The Asylum Seeker Resource Centre (ASRC) posted the following shameful information on their FaceBook page.  This is nothing short of disgusting.

ASRC FaceBook post tells us:

Women at the Darwin detention facility have been waiting 6 months for knickers- yes underwear. Many women had only one pair – the one they came off the boat wearing. Ten days ago the women were finally given 3 knickers each. The women are required to go to the office and line up and ask for sanitary pads on the day that they start their periods – not before and are then given 6 pads – not a packet but 6.

Certainly not a situation that would allow these women to feel even remotely like the woman in the ad on the left!  Was this someone’s crazy idea of cost cutting?  The mind boggles.

If anyone wonders WHY I will be trying to stand for pre-selection (pending my husband’s visa grant), the above is one of the reasons why.  This is NOT how I see my country and I am damned sure it not how a lot of other people see it either.

While technically this may or may not be an abuse of any international Human Rights convention or convenant, it is an abuse of simply common decency!

Visit http://www.asrc.org.au/ to see what you can do to help!

Note: I wrote about this on November 19 on another blog but it more correctly belongs here, so slighty out of sequence.  I am ashamed of my country, but not because of my personal battle, because of what we (yes WE – we all allow it) are doing to those less fortunate.

Written by Robyn Dunphy

November 21, 2010 at 3:19 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] in Portugal who roped me into this A – Z Challenge, recently read an old article of mine, Then there is the stuff kept quiet, about Australia making menstruating women queue for sanitary supplies.  Carole commented: My […]

  2. My goodness Robyn making women wait until their period has started and then queue for pads is humiliating. I think this screams of an abuse of their international Human Rights. Australia is not a third World country, so why is it behaving as if it is. Australia is a great country and should be setting an example.

    As for basic clothing like knickers – I hope men aren’t running this centre.

    Sorry Robyn, I’ve just woken up sitting here with my morning cuppa and I am shouting at my PC screen reading this article, in indignation for these women, at the injustice and how they are treated. Shame on Australia 😦

    Piglet in Portugal

    February 4, 2012 at 7:00 pm

    • I was pretty irate about it! Sorry to spoil your coffee!

      Team Oyeniyi

      February 4, 2012 at 7:08 pm

      • My heart goes out to these poor women. When I read about situations like this it makes me appreciate how lucky I am and gripes and moans are nothing compared to this. I hope in time their situation improves.

        Piglet in Portugal

        February 4, 2012 at 7:18 pm

  3. […] our hands, we kindly pump them full of drugs to keep them quiet.  We make the woman ask for sanitary supplies in the most embarrassing circumstances.  Yet we have the cheek to criticise […]

  4. […] post has been moved here, where it more properly […]


Leave a Reply

